Reason
Lost a loved one
Country
US
State
Texas
City
Little Elm
My father was diagnosed with ALS about 3 years ago. He has recently experienced 'gas' pains in his stomach. He says he doesn't know if he has to burp or pass gas, but it is extremely uncomfortable and painful for him.

Could this be from the medication? muscles breaking down?

Any info would be great!

I'm not a doctor but would guess meds before muscles. Is he on anything new?

AL.

Does he have a PEG tube? Dad had similar challenges after using his feeding tube for a while. The feed rate and timing of his meals was altered and that seemed to help. His doc suggested he start using a mild children's medication for gas relief (I want to say Mylicon, but I'm not sure) which helped, too.

If he doesn't move much then I think he could end up with constipation which could trap gas, here is a recent story about my brother-

Recently in the hospital they gave my brother something for constipation. He was feeling very uncomfortable in his stomach so the thought was that would help (and had been several days since he had a bowl movement)
I'm not sure if the gas was already present or if the medicine caused if it was blockage keeping the gas in him but his stomach was swelled pretty tight and he was in complete misery. The last 48 hours were the worst.
I'm not sure if there is a medical term for what I am going to describe (and beware it does sound kind of icky but it worked!) they did something where the inserted a small tube in his rectum that immediately helped some of the liquid stool come out and gave him some gas relief. Then they brought in a bigger tube 2 hours later and this helped release a ton of gas for him. His stomach became more loose and he was finally out of pain.
Seems a bit extreme to go through to get rid of gas but I was so glad they finally got him out of pain.