Reason
PALS
State
FEDERAL TERRIORTY
City
KUALA LUMPUR
Hi,

Greetin from Malaysia.
I am new in the ALS forum.Firstly,I desperately need an advise on Trach Vent.
My dad suffers severel stroke past 5 months and bed ridden and a home care at the moment.
He is in constant used of trach vent.Suction is done hourly basis.

1. Is there any thing such as a permanent tranch vest made of stainless steel which is washable?
We are using a disposable trach vent at the moment.And it is expensive approx.$250US for a box of 50.
Thus, we do not know the depenable of the trach vent usageand assumed it will be a long terms usage.

2.Is there such a thing of reuseable trach vent or recycleable trach vent in the market?

3.If anyone could advised me on how to keep the useage of trach vent to the minimum?

Thank you.Your advise is highly appreciated

Hey guys there must surely be someone with vent experience to help this person. Richard you are up on a lot of technical matters and LaDave you are well read. Do you or any others have any advice for Willmie? I had a site a while back but it moved with no forwarding address.

Hi Willmie,
My dad is on a vent that is attached to a trach. His has a portable vent which is really nice because he can still go around places. (The only places he has gone so far is to the doctor and out in the back yard, but we are planning on taking him to the horse races next month!) I will try to answer some of your questions, but I am not sure that I can.

As far as suctioning goes, this is something that just comes along with a trach. My dad needs it every few hours or so. He usually needs it if he starts coughing hard, we then suction him, and it usually helps him out a lot. Right now, where we live, there is a lot of pollen out and his allergies have flaired up. We have to suction him more due to his allergies.