Reason
Loved one DX
Country
US
State
US
City
US
My brother was diagnosed at the age of 44 (2008).... due to headache and drop foot (w/ associated falls). It took a good 2 years for the diagnosis to come, and when it did, it was PLS, four years later with ALS. I've helped him through a lot as my mother's health failed starting in 2011. He is now nearing the end (maybe) of his journey.... he is no longer "consistently" responsive to questions, and while we had a "plan" in mind a year ago, things change and we'd prefer a firm response... with none to be had (or so it seems).

We got the shock of our lives two weeks ago, when my mother had an EMG (due to cervical spinal damage she was fasciculating)... diagnosis of "motor neuron disease" .... consistent w/ ALS type changes. Then we got the age old "only time will truly tell" statement.
I studied human genetics as an undergrad... I know what this all means.
So beyond that "intimate" association is the fact of dealing with my brother, and mother's care planning, and estate... and dealing with the financial issues that accompany both.... all with the selfishness many people (including my own siblings) possess.
I will say I am a a very low point right now. And all the recent media hype is not helping. I am so angry, and afraid. But mostly angry.

I am very sorry. FALS is a nightmare that never stops. You have a lot to deal with practically right now plus the emotional blow of your mom's diagnosis plus very real fear for yourself and other family members
If you have not already read the sticky about FALS for some thoughts on gene testing. If I were you I would try to get my mom or brother tested so you will know what you are dealing with. Don't make a decision about testing yourself until you have had time to work through this. Whatever the results testing is best done from a position of strength not fear. In the meantime remember you have a 50 percent chance of being negative

Rasl30 - My heart goes out to you!