Learn about ALS
Country
UK
State
Merseyside
City
Liverpool
Hi guys,

I’m really new to this thread and have read all the information before posting this.

I’m really scared at the moment. A few days ago I noticed a sudden weakness in my left leg. This wasn’t gradual and as I say, very sudden. I can still walk properly, walk on my tip toes and I don’t not trip or fall. It just feels really weak but capable at the same time. Naturally I consulted DR Google and I started scaring myself with ALS. The next day my arm started feeling weak and playing up too. I feel very stiff when I get up of a morning but that normally goes away a few minutes after. The weakness also changes depending on the position I’m sitting/standing. When I’m sitting my leg/ankle tends to feel really weak but that changes to my arm if I change position.

I some times slight twitches but not frequently. My grip is completely fine and I can still carry things as normal. I also some times get back pain as well, although this seems to have stopped.
Visited my GP who did a few reflex tests etc and all were normal, said my strength seemed fine. Went for bloods tests today so get results back on Friday.

But from my symptoms does this sound like ALS? I’m just worrying myself sick. Note that I’m 22 and a male as well.

Danny.

Nothing you posted sounds like ALS. It does sound like you are extremely anxious and anxiety can make any symptom much worse. Trust your doctor and work with him/her.

Try to stay off Google. It will only increase your anxiety.

You definitely don't need to be here.

Fears of ALS

Hi everyone, I hope everyone is well.