Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
Maine
City
Gouldsboro
Hi I'm new to this thread. Not too sure of the whole process. Anyway I'm 75 and have had weakness that started about 5 years ago in right leg. I have have had a full check out at the Leahy Clinic in Massachusetts 3 years ago. ALS wasn't confirmed but not eliminated either. I haven't gone back for anymore tests. Weakness is progressing moderately. I can still walk my dog with aid of two old ski poles going a total of 1/8 of a mile. I have weakness throughout my whole body. Left hand and wrist can't hold a cup of coffee. Right hand OK. I can't climb one step without pulling myself up with right arm. I fall now and then. My plan is to wait until I'm sure it's ALS before going back to doctors for diagnosis. Thanks for any suggestions.
Steve in rural Maine coast.

Mod note: Moved post to own thread.

Welcome, wyoste. Sorry you find yourself here. I've moved your post to your own thread. It sounds like your situation is quite different from most of the people who come here seeking answers.

I can’t tell you whether or not you have ALS, but I do recommend you see a neurologist given your progression of symptoms and new involvement in left hand and wrist. Something is going on, hopefully benign, but you owe it to yourself to find out what it is because it might be treatable.

The first rule is to not hijack someone else's thread! :)
The second rule is that undiagnosed visitors have to stay solely in their own thread.

And this one is now yours!
Plz stay in it.

Wow! Mod collision! ;-)

If I were you, I'd go to a neurologist and find out what is wrong.

Thanks Kim,
I've been to neurologist in Maine. She referred me to Leahy Clinic in Massachusetts. Spent the day at Clinic and had all the tests, saw 2 different neurologists etc. Didn't confirm or exclude ALS. That was about 3 years ago.