Country
Uni
State
GA
City
ATLANTA
Hi All,

This is my first time here. I will begin to tell you my story:

On December 7th I came down with Influenza Type A. I had fever for 5 days and was prescribed Tamiflu on day 2. Right around that time I noticed a small pain in my left armpit - it felt like I pulled something. A few days after, I noticed a burning sensation in my upper right spine and right tricep.

I flew down to FL on December 14th and while I was there was waking up at night with severe burning in either my right or left tricep and upper right spine. I then started to notice muscle twitching in my shoulders and triceps. Throughout the next week or so I would wake up with the persistent burning and a couple times would wake up to find my entire arm numb so I went to the ER. The ER doctors said it was most likely a complication of the flu, but he ordered blood work and an MRI of my brain/spine. Everything came back negative, although he said there was some slight inflammation at the top of my spine, but nothing to worry about.

I went to my PCP and she ordered more blood work. Once all my blood work came back negative, she referred me to a neurologist, and reiterated it was probably just a complication of the flu. Since I live in Atlanta, I went to Emory since they have a top neurology program.

The doctor did a neurological examination which checked out fine. He said the same thing, that there was mild inflammation at the top of my spine but that he wasn't concerned. He diagnosed with with Dysesthesia and Anxiety and ordered an EMG. He also put me on Gabapentin.

I did the EMG on my left arm and leg and it came back negative. He said he ruled out all the scary diseases and that it's either a reaction triggered by the virus, or a sensory phenomenon. He then ordered another EMG on my right arm and leg as well as another MRI on my brain and spine.