Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
oklahoma
City
oklahoma city
For those who have had a muscle biopsy that confirmed your als diagnosis, can you share? There isn’t much to be found on the web and I am curious about mine.

Here is mine, which I am waiting and fearing the worst with “deinnervation with associated reinnervation.” In addition to this, I have fasiculations, muscle weakness, atrophy, voice changes, brisk reflexes, essentially normal EMG, and normal bloodwork. From my “dr.google” research, it seems to point to ALS, but I am no expert.

“Most muscle fibers vary between approximately 10 and 100 micrometers in diameter. Fibers smaller than 25 micrometers occur singly or in pairs. Rare fibers are highly atrophic and consist of clumps of nuclei surrounded by a thin rim of cytoplasm. Necrotic and regenerating fibers are not present. A few mononuclear cells are present at a single endomysial site. The connective tissue elements are unremarkable.
In NADH dehydrogenase reacted sections, very rare highly atrophic fibers overreact. Succinate dehydrogenase reacted sections yield no additional information. Cytochrome c oxidase negative fibers are not present. In ATPase reacted sections, the random distribution of histochemical fiber types is disrupted by slight grouping of type 1 fibers. The atrophic fibers are of either histochemical type. Type 2B fibers have a slightly smaller mean diameter than other fiber types. There are no unusual increases of acid phosphatase. Myophosphorylase reactivity is preserved. The muscle fiber glycogen and lipid contents are normal. Very rare atrophic fibers slightly overreact for nonspecific esterase. Congo red stained sections viewed under rhodamine optics reveal no congophilic deposits.

Diagnosis: Denervation atrophy with associated reinnervation, slight.