Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
Georgia (GA)
City
Savannah
Hello. I am an 18 year old and am scared that I might have ALS. I've been experiencing twitches in my body for 2 months now that came with shaky legs. This got better, and the twitches continue, but i discarded them as benign because they stop when I move, etc. I went to a neuro who did regular tests on me and said I was ok, but this was a month ago, before the hand issues started.

However, recently things have started to get more concerning. In my right hand, my thumb has felt weaker than usual for a while now. It is as if it gets tired very easily, like if I had worked out my thumb. I am an artist and it's starting to feel odd to draw. I chalked up a lot of symptoms to my anxiety, but this seems to be more serious.

I've been wearing a wrist brace and it does not get better. There are no pins and needles or tingling/numbness. My left hand is relatively fine. There is also a strange hole that forms in my thumb muscle when I move my thumb around, but it is otherwise not there. The joint in between my middle finger and hand feels odd and seems to be stiffening very slightly. My fasciculations are not constant, but the feeling of tiredness has spread to my fingers in these past few days.

I can still form a fist and straighten my fingers with ease, and i can still carry heavy objects without the muscle giving out, but the hole that forms in my thumb muscle when i stretch it and the tiredness of my hand plus occassional pain and fasciculations that make my fingers move a little on their own, I am fearing that these are very early signs of ALS.