Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
NY
City
Boonville
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here so please be patient with me. My mom has been going through some problems that started back in August (5 months now). We have been to see a neurologist who is getting ready to make the final diagnosis, but we are not sure that this is als (he is leaning towards this). We are unsure though because of the symptoms/progression she has been having.

So starting in August, my mom noticed a strange tingling sensation in her left arm that went on for a week or so. After this, she noticed her left shoulder starting to become weak (hard to lift up above her shoulders). Her arm continued to get progressively worse over the next month to the point she was barely able to use it, but could still write (left handed), go to work, etc. It was also around this time (so late August-mid September) that she noticed her feet were feeling weird, almost a numb feeling that she thought was maybe caused by wearing flip flops over the summer. We thought that maybe her left arm weakness was due to a pinched nerve, so my sister (physical therapist) gave her some exercises to do. Her arm did start to get better at points, but then she took a turn for the worse.

Her left arm continued to get progressively worse and she started to notice the tingling starting in her upper legs. At this point, she began to become extremely worried and went to her doctor. Her doctor was absolutely useless and blamed the whole thing on anxiety (my mom has severe anxiety), but she continued to get progressively worse. By November, she was still able to walk, but was using a walker to get around (she stopped going to work at this point). The doctor did order an EMG, so she had that done which showed possible ALS or Guillian Barre Syndrome.