Reason
Other
Country
US
State
IL
City
Chicago
Hey guys, so I'm a drummer. 20 years old. About a year ago I noticed some problems with my right foot and being able to play the bass drum with it cleanly. I couldn't execute successive strokes the way I wanted to and at first I was worried I had focal dystonia. Playing the bass drum was always something I was able to do with ease and now it wasn't happening when I tried to play this one pattern, which eventually progressed into me not being able to play a ton of patterns. I saw a neurologist who took a bunch of blood tests and an MRI, all of which came back fine, and I wasn't even officially diagnosed with dystonia. My right foot has only progressively gotten worse since so I'm trying to learn how to play with my left.

Anyways a couple months ago when school started back up again I noticed that every once in a while I would have trouble gripping my pencil. I feel a tickle (not a tingle) in my wrist and am unable to grip it with any sort of control needed to write. A few minutes later it usually returns. Additionally I've been having more minor troubles with twitching in the drumming leg and also twitching/tremor in the index finger on my writing hand.

I'm looking up symptoms as to why this could be happening (big mistake) and eventually stumble on ALS. I do some research about it which only has me mildly concerned, but then I read this story about a drummer who has it and his first symptom was the exact thing I'm experiencing, so I'm freaking out.

Drummer remains upbeat in face of deadly disease ? GMNews Archive

It also mentions sluggishness, which I feel like I've been experiencing more fatigue in my ankle and leg area, so I'm really really concerned about this. I have a follow up with my neurologist in a month and I'm already terrified about what he might discover. Thanks for reading this and providing any information/feedback.

Last edited:
When you had the MRI - was that of the entire spine?