Reason
Other
Country
Uk
State
London
City
London
Hi, I recently had an EMG and also a nerve excitability testing of ion channels. I have had EMGs before which have shown fascias and one showed a minor neurogenic change. I have been twitching for 15 months but except for brisk reflexes clean clinical. Is there anyone that could interpret my EMG and the nerve excitability ion channel test?

My first question would be, how did your doctor interpret the result? You are asking strangers on the internet to interpret a diagnostic test for you. That question should be answered by the doctor who ordered the test and who you are seeing for your symptoms. What have they said?

He said simply that hey see it in BFS. Didn't expand on if seen in ALS.

You have symptoms consistent with bfs, not ALS. Your emg is not ALS. Your doctor said the tests are consistent with bfs. I don't think ion channel tests are done in the US for ALS- not even in study of presymptomatic gene carriers

Hi, yes you are right I am not sure US have been very involved in the axon channel nerve testing. I think mainly Europe and Japan. It shows that increased sodium polarisation fanning and decreased potassium ion channels seem to be consistent with the very early stages before clinical signs when only nerve excitability shows resulting in fascias. I was hoping someone could interpret my results as neutral. I heard there is a chap called Wright who is keen on this stuff.

Twitching means nothing.
Twitching for 15 months with no clinical symptoms means less than nothing.

Please don't push that any further, less than nothing is actually incredibly exciting and you should just go live you life rather than focus on less than nothing. All the best.

Hi Tillie and thanks for the feedback along also with Starente and Nikki.