Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
Tennessee
City
Nashville
Hey everybody,

I'm new to all of this, as I never expected I'd be within five miles of a neurological issue at my age. I just turned 20 five days ago (3/28/96), and I am literally TERRIFIED that I have ALS.

My symptoms have been going on for the past seven or eight weeks (since right after Valentine's Day) - it started with a knee flimsiness of some sort in my left leg. Of course, I'm a hypochondriac, so I naturally assumed I had MS (lol, what?). But as time progressed, I began getting fasciculations all over, and I've noticed that it's like I have a leg length discrepancy now, with my right foot being both larger, flatter, and attached to what appears to be a longer leg. I began having an "electric rod" sort of muscle excitability feeling in my legs (some weird combo of feeling muscle fatigue and overexcitement) and (even though I know this part isn't a symptom of ALS) I began to have some pretty mad paraesthesia in my right foot. The last two toes bend out when I bend them too, which is a bit weird. Two Saturdays into it, I had my first full-blown panic attack ever.