Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
IL
City
Chicago
Ah my dear friends, thanks in advance for your support. I'm sending much love to all who spend their time in service to others here.

Navigating the medical world is scary, even (especially, perhaps) for a med student. There's still stigma to being ill in this field. :/

I'm a male med student in Chicago, just now recently on a leave from school. This has been a journey for me.

I just want to say I don't think I have ALS, but am not ruling it out at the moment due to the fasciculations and weakness. Still, my issues seemed to start with severe cognitive changes before the physical problems.

About 12 months ago I got hit with some massive confusion, fatigue, and depression out of the blue, but no antidepressants touched it-- I even did TMS with no luck. Mainly I was just zoned out all the time and really apathetic-- major anhedonia and memory issues. We ran the gamut and some stuff is off (WBC, platelets, lymphocytes, monocytes have been at the high end for almost a year now), but not high enough to think leukemia or anything. Catecholamines look ok too. My total protein and SGOT were a little above the high index.

MRI C-spine normal, MRI brain showed a vascular lesion in the right frontal cortex, likely a telangiectasia, and I've been told it's unrelated to my symptoms. I was really hoping it was cancer so that I would have an answer. The depression and fatigue have been severe.

Then 4 months ago I started experiencing fasciculations in all my limbs, and that hasn't stopped. I will get an EMG soon. I have certainly noticed weakness in my muscles, but I don't think it would jump out at me because I haven't been working out for a year and have been depressed.