Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
CT
City
bridgeport
Hey Guys,

I've been twitching for a while now (4 years or so) had an emg done 4 years ago which was normal. Over the last year I've been cramping real easy - writing, carrying baby, carrying bags etc with no loss of strength. Over the last 2 months I developed a constant focal twitch in my right bicep along with some stiffness in right leg. What really has me concerned though is this new weakness that has hit me in my left hand. Over the last week I've had this serious pain in my shoulder/bicep, elbow area. I do light exercise and was unable to squeeze hand grip with left hand (I am lefty and just a couple of weeks ago I was able to squeeze 20 + times).

Does ALS weakness just suddenly hit you like this? Basically I went from normal to nothing in a couple of weeks. I'm in the middle of a job change and don't have insurance until mid-Feb. I don't even have my wife and daughter around for support so I am going crazy. Any help or advice on what this could be would be appreciated. Thank you all so much

Well yes it can and often does happen suddenly but so do other things so please do not panic. The pain makes me wonder about a pinched nerve rather than something more sinister

Thanks Nikki - I am only 31 with a 9 month old, I am so scared. I am sitting at work crying with my door closed.

Didn't you see a doctor after you posted your last thread?

Still not seeing ALS in you.

As Nikki asked, pinched nerve?

As I noted in your last thread, this requires medical attention. Not for ALS; for the crying at work. It's happened to me, too, so I understand it happens. See the doc, please.