cholden90 is on a distinguished road
New Member (Say Hi)
City: Winthrop
State: Massachusetts
Interest: Other
Default Very concerned

Hello,

I am a 24 year old male who is presently concerned about the possibility of having ALS. I am a nurse and often have a tendency to overthink things, but being a nurse, I also have a tendency to notice symptoms a lot more than other people would.

My symptoms

1. Muscle spasms in both upper and lower extremities, on right and left sides
2. Muscle aches in both upper extremities
3. Occasional twitching.

I do have some anxiety, I work out every day and do take BP meds (hctz) which can sometimes dehydrate me, but lately I have been drinking more to counteract this, but to no avail. I do not have any difficulty moving or performing fine motor functions, but I am concerned that this might only be because i am in the initial stages? Please somebody help me. I will schedule an appt with my GP, but I feel the need to have some credibility before I go.
Old 11-14-2015, 04:10 PM #2 (permalink)

City: Barrie
State: ON
Diagnosed: 08/2014
Interest: I have been diagnosed with ALS.
Vincent is a splendid one to beholdVincent is a splendid one to beholdVincent is a splendid one to beholdVincent is a splendid one to beholdVincent is a splendid one to beholdVincent is a splendid one to beholdVincent is a splendid one to behold
Vincent is a splendid one to beholdVincent is a splendid one to beholdVincent is a splendid one to beholdVincent is a splendid one to beholdVincent is a splendid one to beholdVincent is a splendid one to beholdVincent is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Very concerned

At 24 you would almost certainly not have ALS. ALS is a disease of motor neurons. Muscles are not getting signals so they don't contract. They don't hurt, they don't tingle or go numb. they just don't work. Enjoy youth, you don't belong here.
Vincent
Old 11-14-2015, 04:51 PM #3 (permalink)
Extremely Helpful Member
Forum Moderator

City: Orlando