Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
CA
City
hawthorne
I am 28 years old. No family history of ALS but there is a lot of random neurological problems in my family from: my grandfather having parkinsons, my mother suffering from chronic muscle cramping and my aunt who has myclonic tourettes. It’s been about 7 months since my first sign of weakness and twitching and this is a quick rundown of my symptoms thus far.
It all began with weakness in my left hand that also had some pain in it. I assumed carpal tunnel because I am a musician yet i’ve never had it before. This came with twitching in my calves that later manifested everywhere in my body. Legs, diaphragm, face, mouth, stomache, and arms. This weakness in my hand moved up my arm and i’ve had several episodes of extreme weakness that seems to remit and return every few days. About two months later I developed weakness in my right leg. I tested my strength frequently by standing on my toes and heels. I could do both just fine until recently when I lost my toe walk in the affected leg. I also developed weakness in breathing that has only gotten worse with time. It began with episodes of shallow breathing and feeling like I can’t take a deep breath to weak breathing all the time without any breaks. The breathing weakness has been the most problematic and I am at the point where I can’t breathe very well most of the time especially when driving for some reason. I’ve called the paramedics more times than I would like to admit because of sudden weakness in my breathing where I feel like i’m going to die because I can’t take an adequate breath. Now 7 months later I cannot walk on my right toes, my breathing is very inconsistent often degrading into extreme weakness if I talk to much or walk very far. The twitching is still rampant everywhere in my body. I’ve been to 3 neuros. The first noticed my brisk reflexes but could not observe any fasciculations. He performed an EMG and jumped right to ALS testing my weak limbs