Learn about ALS
Country
NL
State
Utrecht
City
Utrecht
Hi there,

First of all let me thank al the wonderful users of this website. Can't tell you how deep my respect for you is.
I've been coming back to this part of the website for two months now.
Yes I've read the stickies, about 123 times or so...

I'm a 38 year old male with a family of two young kinds (aged three and six) and a lovely wife.

For the last two months I've been having some problems.
It started with the index finger on my left hand. Writing was painful and it has been ever since. Hand cramps up al the time and hurts after one sentence.
Two weeks after that my right foot was getting painful. During the day it felt like my shoe would get too small for my foot.
Tried other shoes and that didn't really help. Now this comes and goes. Sometimes it's gone, sometimes it's back.

When lifting objects (grocerie bags, my 3 year old) my muscles are painful and burn real quick.
Since last week both my calves have become very stiff, tight and painful.
Last couple of days my upper leg muscles are painful as well and they hurt terribly when I walk up and down the stairs.

Have a twitch at my left eye.
When trying to sleep (I think) i feel twitching in both my calves and legs, but can't see
Have been to my doctor a month ago and he thought nothing of it.
Went back this week and he still thinks nothing serious but did make me do a blood test.
Results will come next week.

About 6 months ago I was reading up on ALS and now I'm really worried. Dr. Google hasnt been doing me an good...

Could my symptoms by early ALS related?
Are muscle pains and stifness early ALS symptoms?
Would muscle fatigue come before muscle weakness?
Should I be worried and want to see a neurologist?

Always a pretty relaxed person but with my health (especially after having kids) I get real anxious when I don't know what happening.
Can't enjoy my lovely family this last month because I'm really worried.