Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
Ca
City
Los Angeles
First off, I want to say that I am a General Internal Medicine physician and, while I have cared for many ALS patients suffering through the later stages of ALS, I know relatively little about the various ways that the earliest manifestations of ALS can present themselves (I know the classic basics - foot drop, swallowing difficulty, but in medicine the classic presentation is not the only presentation).

Secondly, I just wanted to say that most [actually ALL] of the individuals I've met with ALS have truly inspired me with their perseverance and strength in the face of horrifically undeserved circumstances. You are all truly heroes to me, and I mean that.

Thirdly, I must say that I realize that I am probably asking this question far too early in the process and it would be most reasonable of me wait for a few weeks at least to see how my symptoms develop before considering such a rare, worst-case-scenario diagnosis. But the reality of the fact is that I have a propensity toward concluding the worst based on limited evidence when it comes to my own health, even though I am able to be much more objective when considering the health of others.

So with that said. I just wanted to present what's going on with me and hope that any of you chime in on whether this could be compatible with the earliest signs of ALS. I fully expect I will get some people who say "you're a doc, you know you shouldn't be asking people on the internet about symptoms, you should go see a doctor," and you're absolutely right... but that would require me asking a colleague to evaluate me for something I'm worried they'd think I was nuts for asking them to consider. That, and frankly, as a physician I've come to trust actual patient experiences of symptoms more than the bullet-point list of "classic" symptoms we get in medical school and residency.