Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
Missouri
City
saint louis
I am new to this forum and came across it while trying to search an answer for my recent symptoms.I am really worried and it is eating me up from inside.I am a 29 yr old and have noticed twitching in my calf and thigh muscles since the past two weeks.It happens off and on throughout the day.My eye has been twitching as well but that has happened at times even as a child so I did not bother about that.The corner of my mouth has also been twitching lately.The only visible fasciculations I have seen are in my feet.I elicited my knee reflexes and they were very brisk,Id say +4 or even +5.Another issue that worries me to death is that since the past month or two there has been a nasal twang to my voice.I had initially attributed it to nasal stuffiness or maybe new onset allergic rhinitis but lately,I have choked on my cereal twice or thrice.I am a doctor and have diagnosed ALS cases in the past(who were much older than myself) but am scared to see a GP or neurologist myself because I fear the worst.I am therefore sharing my symptoms on this forum with the hope that other people might guide me from their own experiences... :cry:

Doesn't sound like ALS.
ALS doesn't cause eye or lip twitching.
I am NOT a Doctor but, I suspect you might be experiencing B.F.S. (Benign Fasciculation Syndrome).
But, how can you be sure? You've got make an appointment with your GP and then get a referral from this GP to see a Neurologist that could conduct more comprehensive tests such as EMG that could determine what you have.

Hope this helps.

NH

Thanks a lot NH.It does help.Im just scared to see a doctor for this,but I guess I shall..

I understand your fear, but since you're as a doctor who has diagnosed ALS in the past, please recall that clinical weakness typically precedes fasciculations. Have others commented on your nasal twang, or is this your own observation?