Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
Nevada
City
Reno
Hi, I'm a heathy 28yo male. I'm a firefighter/paramedic with a wife and 2 kids. Here are my symptoms for over a year:

-Muscle twitching all over including the tongue
-Feet, Calf and hand sorness and cramping
-Knee weakness & Giving out
-Difficulty swallowing (no choking but food sometimes get caught)
-Abnormal (feel like I'm not breathing deep enough so I sigh a lot)
-Slurred speech

-Last month I developed hyperreflexia (knees)
-Last month I had a bout of acending numbness that went from both feet to my knees over 5 days. Also around the 5 day mark I had patchy numbness throughout my upper body and head. Over the next 5 days it went away the same way it came on. This has been the only occurance of this type of feeling.

This prompted me to see a doctor and on evaluation I could not feel my left foot but I could feel most everything else with a decreased sense. Also hyperreflexia in both knees. Passed all other tests.

-EMG Normal
-MRI Normal
-Strength is normal (feels more like muscle fatigue)
-Overly sore outter thumb muscle for no reason

Neurologist says I have a LMN problem but I'm showing no signs of a UMN problem. I'm getting a CT and an echocardiogram done in a few days. Does anyone have any advise or similar experiance they could share?

Keep up with your neuro.

Some of what you posted seems contradictory, but it might just be confusing terms he had thrown out there. At any rate, with only UMN or LMN, it isn't ALS - ALS is a combination of the two, so that's good news. And generally bulbar ALS would not skip your arms and midsection to start playing around in your legs. ALS also doesn't cause numbness. So that's not something I would invest a lot of worrying in at this juncture.