Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
CA
State
Quebec
City
Montreal
I'm still in the diagnosis process having seem 2 neurologists so far and ran 2 tests (MRI and EMG). It all started last August with a severe sciatica cuased by a large herniated disc onthe lower back. In January my legs started to weaken with muscle atrophy. I had a disectomy surgery to decomress the disc in March.

Since then, both my legs have continued to weaken and have also started to shake violently when I walk and make an effort. My left leg even kicks to the side maling it very hard to walk even with a cane. So far neurologists have not really noticed significant arm tremors.

I was wondering if MS, ALS can affect only the legs very significantly with partial paralysis and tremors without other symptoms ?

I am sorry you are having these problems and I really don't have any input on the partial paralysis and tremors since I am fairly new to this disease. What were the results of your NCV/EMG?

I am sorry you are having these problems and I really don't have any input on the partial paralysis and tremors since I am fairly new to this disease. What were the results of your NCV/EMG?

My MRI showed a few lesions but not enough for a definite diagnosis and my leg Emg came back normal.

Did they do an MRI of your spine to check for lesions there?

Are they considering doing a lumbar puncture? That is what I would request next. Do you have any problems with your eyes like optic neuritis? Just remember...I am not a doctor...just a nurse. Keep us posted on how you are doing ok? We cannot diagnose here but we can offer support.

As far as I know MS, especially progressive types of MS, can completely do that. Keep following up with your doctor! And if you can't walk safely for long distances... a cheap wheelchair could go a long way for extending your range. You don't have to use it all the time, or most of the time even, but having one can make some things a lot easier.