Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
PA
City
Lebanon
Hello,
I am new to this forum so please bear with me. I am a 43 year old male who started to experience occasional twitching at the corner of my mouth in June. Near the end of August I started with more severe twitching in both my calves. The twitching has continued throughout my body but is most noticeable in my calves and only when at rest. I have been working out 4 to 5 days a week for the past 2 years and have not noticed any weakness. If anything, my workouts are getting better. My weight remains stable.

Blood work requested by my PCP was normal B12, folic acid, electrolytes). Sent me for a brain MRI which showed "non-specific white matter changes".

Local neurologist (not a recognized expert in ALS) did a clinical exam which he said was normal. Exam included reflex tests, walking on toes, walking on heals, pushing against his manual resistance, etc. Blood work was negative for Lyme disease. CK level is recent blood work was 84 which my neurologist said was well within normal range. Neurologist did a NCV and EMG on all limbs and face and he said there was no signs of fasciculation or ALS. He also asked to see my tongue.

That raised a red flag for me and got me worrying about Bulbar ALS. Went back to him for additonal EMG test on my tongue. He stuck me twice under the chin and once on the tongue and found nothing alarming.

He also ordered a spinal tap which was negative for MS and Lyme's.

Since the first EMG and him looking at my tongue, I have an odd feeling in my tongue and feel like words that end in "s" are not coming out of my mouth clearly. This fear of ALS is consuming me. I have talked to my wife about my perceived speech problem and she repeatedly has told me that she has not noticed any slurring. The twitching at the corner of my mouth continues and I have also noticed twitching above my ears.