Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
US
State
LA
City
Ball
I'm new to the form,frist off,I'm 34 yr. old female.Back around the end of October 2010 while out to eat with my family and some friends.I was eating and went to swallow and It was like I forgot how to swallow,I kind of paniced and then when I tried again after gaging the food back up It went on down.It happened once more right after that.It happened just a few times in November and got bad the week of Christmas.It will go weeks and never happen or only happen once during a meal.No problems chewing that I've noticed,I do have twitching from time to time in different parts of the body,but no weakness that I'm aware of.I have had some weird shortness of breath moments that last only maybe and hour and then I'm fine.I did look up problems with swallowing on the internet and of coarse ALS came up,I tend to be a little anixous about my health,so I'm hoping this isn't the onset of Bulbar ALS!Does this sound like the swallowing problems with ALS,would it progress to other parts?Any opinions or advice would be helpfull.Thanks

Your symptoms do not sound like bulbar ALS. The typical first bulbar ALS symptom is slurred speech, not swallowing problems. When swallowing problems due to bulbar ALS do begin, difficulties usually start with uncontrolled swallowing (food and drink going down the wrong pipe), causing choking and coughing episodes, rather than actual failure to swallow. The choking is especially prone to occur with thin liquids and dry crumbly foods such as cookies and crackers.

With ALS, it's not how your body feels, but how your body fails. ALS is a progressive degenerative neuromuscular disease, which means that, over time (and a short time at that), more and more nerves and the muscles that they control will fail -- permanently. It starts in one part of the body -- a hand, a foot, your mouth or tongue -- and spreads through the body from there.