00/0000
Country
CA
State
ON
City
Hamilton
Good afternoon :)

I was wondering if someone could comment on something that's been troubling me of late. I am a 34 year old male, an IT analyst by profession. I type a LOT. Lately I've been feeling symptoms that could probably be described as repetitive stress injury type feelings. Pain in my thumb, feelings of loss of dexterity as a result, etc.

My grandmother passed away from ALS in her 70's, and I'm unsure of any genetic link to the condition.

I guess my real question is - how might someone know if what they were experiencing warrants a trip to the doctor?

My left hand, the one that seems most affected, feels a little clumsy, but I think that could be me somatizing. There is a definite pain in the left thumb, sometimes travelling up the left forearm. The hand tires easily right now.

Are these symptoms indicitive of ALS in any way?

I almost feel foolish posting, but it is obviously bothering me, and I thought i'd ask.

Thanks folks :)

I don't think you should worry about ALS. If you were experiencing ALS symptoms they would be different. It would be weakness and manifest itself as dexterity issues. You would not be able to do things like button your shirt. It was be a permanent condition, it would not be there sometimes and go away.

If you are still concerned about it you should see a neurologist.

I don't think you should worry about ALS. If you were experiencing ALS symptoms they would be different. It would be weakness and manifest itself as dexterity issues. You would not be able to do things like button your shirt. It was be a permanent condition, it would not be there sometimes and go away.

If you are still concerned about it you should see a neurologist.

Thanks, Joe. I appreciate you taking the time to reply.