Diagnosis
10/2010
Country
US
State
Florida
City
Clermont
I am new to ALS forums. I have been reading other's postings this past week and really like the support being given at this forum. My name is Arthur, I am 38 years old. I have a wonderful wife of almost 15 years, with 2 children of our own and 2 older step children in their early 20's. So of course, we all are very concerned. I have not yet been diagnosed, but I do have my suspicions. My symptoms first started with twitching in my leg about 5 years ago, which was lasting for what seemed liked several minutes, on and off through out the day. I would best describe the sensation to that of a cell phone vibrating in my pocket. I would have to check my pocket each time, to actually see if my phone was vibrating. About 2 years ago, my twitching progressed to other areas my legs, arms, in addition to occasional numbness to my leg. I had MRI done on my complete spine, which showed buldging discs in my cervical, thoracic, as well as my lumbar area. I passed it off to being related to having a bad back. I saw Ortho, but opted not to pursue surgery unless I really felt I needed it. Being a Registered Nurse myself I kept telling myself that it was nothing and that if I was able to function everyday without any difficulties then I would be fine. I then woke up one morning with numbness to my left hand. I then saw a Neuro for the first time, which was still about 2 years ago. He did a EMG/NCV which showed Cubetal Tunnell Syndrome, similiar to Carpal but being a pinched nerve in my elbow. I expressed my concerns about ALS, the doc said most likely not, I was too young. He did a MRI of my brain, which was normal. After that visit, I did not feel to confident with the doc, feeling that something else was definately going on. I did my own PT exercises and stretching to my hands and extremities, which seemed to improve my overall symptoms. Now recently this past month, I noticed my left hand has much atrophy. It is actually 2cm