Other
Country
US
State
va
City
herndon
All:

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read/respond to my post. I am a worrier by nature, and I am hoping for a little reassurance from those in the forum.

First, I am a 48 year-old male, who was diagnoed with an unknown neuropathy about five years ago. I had (and still have) many fasics all over my body. I have had three EMGs (arms/legs), two when when my symptoms started, and one just last year by a new neuro (moved to a different city). All three EMGs said pretty much the same thing, and the neuros told me that "something" was going on, similar to post-polio symptoms, but that "you don't have ALS." My mind sometimes seems to find other "reasons" to question the diagnosis. I have been managing my symptoms for a few years until somethin new cropped up.

So over the past month or so, I have been clearing my throat constantly. Also seem to have extra saliva sometimes, wiping the corners of my mouth a lot. So I search Dr. Google, and what appears but ALS! So off to the neuro again, with my new fears. I give him my "dignosis," and he performs the standard in-house clinicla neuro exam. Says no way I have ALS. I have no weakness, spasticity, etc. None.

So my simple question is this:

Seeing that my throat clearing is still prominent, and I still worry, would the doctor have clearly seen something, anything, on the neuro exam that would have pointed toward ALS? In other words, would the absence of any other other neurologic symptoms (no weakness, atrophy in mouth, tongue, etc.), should I move on? For what it's worth, below is the document to the study that I found showing throat clearing as a presenting symptom.

Again, thank you all in advance for your time and comments.

John

Attachments

• 01ApproachtoMGorALS.pdf
    232.3 KB · Views: 414,949
Last edited by a moderator: