Diagnosis
03/2006
Country
uk
State
West Sussex
City
sussex
Hi there, I'm new to this and I need some help and support, all suggestions welcome as i am at a loss for ideas. Please excuse the length of this but felt i had to give full picture.
My Dad was diagnosed in Mar 2006, aged 65. He has always been an active man since a young lad so this seemed an unbelievable illness for him to get. Didn't seem real. Naturally, few months after diagnosis nothing had dramatically changed, his legs remained effected as well as the vasiculations and he would gradually show us muscle wasting away but remained determined to beat this thing. He started with rilotec very early on and is still taking it now. His breathing problems started a year ago and has gradually gone downhill. January his FVR was 36% which meant nothing to me but that was when i started looking at this forum to try and understand what it could mean ? Dad doesnt like talking about his mnd or the problems he faces and so i'm in the dark unless my step mum tells me anything.
Up until last week i still refused to believe he had this awful disease, or that he would die from it, but recent events would soon change that line of thinking.
He is panicking and frightened, something I have never seen in my dad. He talks about committing suicide but he's left it too late.