Diagnosis
8/2006
Country
US
State
Virginia
City
Wytheville
Hey out there! This is my first time doing this. Have had counselors, hospice nurses, Duke ALS, etc. Still not coping with all of this. Husband Perry is I believe in "final stages" of this horrible disease. I know that there is only One who can answer my question of "when will this finally be over?" I just would like to have some kind of an idea. He's completely bd ridden. Stopped the Rilutek. We think it's already done the job of 2 or 3 months. Just sooooo hard to deal with. He's soangry and mean. We have 2 young boys. 5 and 8. Don't want to sound selfish. I just want him to be at peace and the boys and I begin to start our life without him. Thanks for any reply. This has been going on for 2 years now. He has been in respid care for 5 days. Needless to say he furious with myself and sister-in-law, his primary care givers. We all (including boys) needed break. Leigh Ann

Leigh Ann-

I'm so sorry that your husband is suffering and that you are suffering, too. It's overwhelming, being the caregiver. And when the people we love so much change and are affected by this crap of a disease, it's breaks our heart. You are entitled to be exhausted, frustrated and sad.

My mom died in June from ALS. I was her sole caregiver for two years. In the final couple of weeks of her life I spent a lot of time thinking about what my life would be life when she and I were free of this disease. I felt SO GUILTY for this. Even though my mom talked (when she was able) about the plans I would make after she was gone. Now that she's gone, I yearn for every second that I wasn't with her. I didn't know she would pass away so soon, and when I think of the three hours I took to go to dinner when the respite people were with her, I want every minute of it back to be sit with her instead. Your time with your husband may be short. You will likely have many years to have a different life after your husband's suffering is over.