Diagnosis
08/2007
Country
US
State
Illinois
City
Chicago area
I am having a difficult time dealing with my anger. My DH was DX 8/07. With the exception of his sister who lives in another state, we have had absolutely no family support whatsoever. Both his adult son and his brother live an hour away. I have asked for their help in a very clear manner. The brother told me he has a bad back & will tell the son to help. The son won't even return a phone call or email.

I am so disgusted! The son calls once every 4 months or so & the brother never calls. This is of course, very hurtful to my DH. :-(

My own father, who lives 3 blocks away never calls and stops by every 3 months or so for 10 minutes at best. In all this time he has NEVER asked me if there is anything he can do to help.:x I think he is mad at me because I have refused to have anything to do with my mother for the past 2&1/2 years. I am no doctor, but I would just about bet my bottom dollar that she has Bipolar disorder. Which wouldn't even be an issue if she would get some help! But as it stands now, she is just too unpredictable, nasty and abusive. I have enough to deal with without that!:roll:

I am on antidepressants, seeing a therapist, and getting out and walking for exercise, as well as journaling when I can find time. I just want to scream sometimes. What the h*ll is WRONG with these people?!:twisted:

I know there are other CALS dealing with this also. Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks for letting me vent.

Linda,

I'm sorry you are having to deal with what a lot of pALS/cALS go thru!

You can't make them understand or help.

I've given up on my husband's family and if they would like to know about their brother or son they can call or come over. I'm not going to call them for help, as it seems it is too much of a burden for them.

I'm so very sorry you have to go thru this. It really hurts, I know.

Just know that we cALS are all in this together and thinking about each other.