Reason
Loved one DX
Country
US
State
New York
City
New york
Hi, I'm not quite sure how to start this post because I'm not quite sure exactly what I need. I'm going to do my best and hope that some of you can offer me some guidance and support.
My dad was very recently diagnosed with ALS. My dad is my person and this has been the hardest thing I've ever had to process. I currently live two states away from my parents, but plan to move home at the end of the school year (I work in a high school and if I can I'd like to finish the year)
I've read a lot about this disease and I've done my best to educate myself on what to expect. Before my dad's diagnose I hardly new anything at all about ALS, so I have a lot to learn.
What I'm struggling with is how to balance learning all I can, while at the same time trying to get out of my head about what I know is going to happen to him.
I know that I'm new to this and that finding my new normal is going to take time and patience, but I don't want my feelings of sadness and anxiety over what's to come to take over the time I still have with my dad. I love him so much, and the thought of him becoming stuck in his body (I'm not sure how to word that) is palpably overwhelming. I just spent a week with him and I believe his symptoms have already gotten worse since he was diagnosed 6 weeks ago.
I guess I'm really just looking for support and any suggestions you might have on managing such difficult feelings. Thanks so much in advance.

You're very wise and doing the right thing. Thank you for that.

" the thought of him becoming stuck in his body (I'm not sure how to word that) is palpably overwhelming."
I know exactly what you mean.

This will be a good place for you. Especially when you can't sleep. And I recommend using the blog feature.

Welcome Jenn. I'm so sorry about your fathers diagnosis. You will find lots of support here.

Jenn,