10/2013
Country
Ca
State
On
City
Barrie
Evening!

Anyone have any good tips for showering? Hubby can only weight bear minimally, no arm or hand use at all, very very difficult to lift leg high enough to get in shower now. We rent so apartment size tub, no option for roll in shower or anything. Have tried a few different transfer benches but none really work. Either all 4 legs are inside tub and he can't get into tub easily to sit down or 2 legs on outside of tub and he doesn't have leg strength to shuffle along once sitting.

I'm at a loss, asked my OT, so is she. Just thought I'd try here before going straight to bed bath :confused:

Look up liteshower. A PALS on FB uses it and recommends. I have no personal experience

Tiny, do you have a patio? if you do you could get a portable outdoor shower and that would get you thru the summer. also, how about a local gym or church with a rec hall or even a hotel in town? maybe you could talk to the manager, and they would let you come in a couple times a week and shower him. before we converted our shower I use to hand wash my husband while he sat on his commode, and I would wash his hair in his chair, leaning back over the bathtub.

Do you have any ability to move into an apartment that is handicapped accessible?

>if you do you could get a portable outdoor shower and that would get you thru the summer.

there was a recent link on a portable shower w/ pics ... I'll see if I can find a link ...

Google this for a number of ideas and choices - portable shower handicap

Hope that helps!

Jim