Loved one DX
Country
HU
State
pest
City
uri
Dear All,

maybe I am not writing in the right topic... maybe this should go in the DIHALS topic.
This is my hopeless scream on the internet, for strangers.

I should be the caregiver of my mother, but I am not...

This is the story of our family (with some off-topic, not ALS-related threads)

I will be 27 yrs next month, married, and a mother of two (3 yrs old girl and 1 yr boy).
My husband is legally blind, with very little residual vision, by rare, uncurable eye disease called cone dystrophy. This is inheritable, its pattern in his family is X-linked recessive inheritance. He is a semi-pro para-athlete, competed at London Paralympics last year. I have been managing his sport career for 4 years. Both of us are an only child, my father died of excessive drinking while I was pregnant with our first child, my husband's father died long ago. My mother-in-law is disabled by an accident.

When we decided to have kids, we were aware of that it would be difficult, but my mother was happy to help us.

I was pregnant with our second child, when my mother started to complain of extreme fatigue, then her walking significantly slowed down (within weeks), became shuffly and unbalanced. Then she just tripped and fell. After one year of going to the doctors, she was diagnosed with rapidly progressive ALS (age 59). At the same time our little girl was sent for development therapies, with delayed speech development and signs of ADHD and mild autistic symptoms. I already had a long history of anxiety, depression, panic, suicidal thoughts, but at this point, I went mad, lost all of sanity.

Our world has broken.

I spent nights and nights on the internet, looking for some hope for my mother, alternative therapies, experimental drugs, anything.