Reason
Loved one DX
Country
Uni
State
CA
City
Westlake Village
My brother has ALS and is covered for most care by the VA. However, his case worker is approving only 28 hours a week of in-home nursing support (CNA and LPN). I have been told that the VA will do more, up to 12 hours a day, but their website doesn't indicate it. I'd ask the case worker, but she appears to be the stumbling block saying his decision on a Trach is against her beliefs. She has threatened his wife with a decision to say she is incompetent to care for her husband and rather than take her on without full knowledge, I'd like to know if any vets out there are getting more than 4 hours a day paid by the VA for home care.

This is pretty urgent as my sister-in-law needs help

Thanks in advance

Golferjg

I've been fighting for more than 1 hour a day for 9 months. 4 hours a day would be heaven! How did your brother get that?

My husband has no use of his hands, arms and is limited in his ability to speak. He cannot walk, and requires 2 people for a transfer when not using the lift. Toileting is hell. It is absolutely terrifying on my part. I am so afraid that one of us is going to get hurt.

If you figure out how to get more help, let me know. My PVA officer keeps telling me that the aid and attendance pay is for help. That is not what I've heard from other vets. My understanding is that aid and attendance helps compensate our household for my lost income.

The PVA officer is telling you the truth. This is what the aid and attendance is meant to be used for. What level of SMC is your brother at? It should be at least R-1.

First off, what case worker said that a trache is against their beliefs?! To be blunt their beliefs don't mean 5h1t. If this was a PVA rep give me a name and we'll have them talking about their beliefs on the unemployment line. If you aren't dealing with the PVA contact them for help.