Loved one DX
Country
US
State
CA
City
Temecula
Hi Everyone,
This is my first time posting here and I was searching for people to talk to about this. My father in law was diagnosed with ALS recently. I'm so heartbroken and I hate watching my husband see his dad go through this. I really just feel in denial right now. Like, I can't believe this is happening and I really don't know how to deal with this. (I hope that doesn't sound insensitive). I just don't know what to say to my husband or what to do to make it better for him. I feel like I don't know how to deal with the emotions that go with this a loved one having ALS. My husband has been very depressed over this and I think this is his time to cope with his dad's diagnosis. They told my FIL that he has a max. of 4 years to live, but he has the ALS where it starts in your mouth. He's had slurred speech for several months and can barely talk now. I know you're all going through this.. but I just feel like I don't know how to feel... or what to do... or I just don't know:( I just really needed to talk, but anything you can share with me would be great. Thanks again for listening.

Carrie

Sorry Carrie that you and your husband have to deal with ALS...not to mention your FIL. Everyone progresses differently, no one is the same but this is a great place to acquire information straight from those affected by ALS. My Mom's ALS began in her foot, she started falling here and there eventually ended up with foot drop. After attacking her legs, one more than the other it moved up to her mouth (aka Bulbar onset). She was slurring words, others could notice one side of her mouth drooping. Then swallowing became difficult, which was mostly the ALS attacking her tongue. She elected no feeding tube, no vent or trach.