Loved one DX
Country
US
State
NV
City
Henderson
Hi Everyone,
This is my first time visiting this site. I was looking for a place where people with ALS or people who have a loved one with ALS could offer advice/support. My mother-in-law was diagnosed with ALS in January 2008. She has never accepted the diagnosis and has been convinced God will heal her. This has been so hard on my husband and his family. Her 80 year old mother is her primary caregiver. She refused to let anyone else help. My husband and I watch as her poor mother gets more and more frustrated and exhausted everyday. We have no idea how long she may have. She can't move or speak. She communicates by blinking for yes and gets so upset when her needs aren't understood. She eats about 1 cup of pudding a day. She doesn't see a doctor. She has no feeding tube-she refused to ever have one when she was still able to speak. About a year ago before she was bedbound my husband would have to go over to her house every day after work to get her off the couch and into a wheelchair so her mother could take her to the restroom. I got very upset because I had just had a baby and needed my husband at home. I feel so guilty for getting upset. I know part of it was hormones from just giving birth but I still have a lot of guilt i'm carrying. I had never even heard of this disease until my mother-in-law was diagnosed. I can't believe how quickly she deteriorated. It's heartbreaking. We never thought she would have survived this long. We keep thinking she can't possibly have much time left but we just don't know. This is just so hard and I wish I could do more to help my husband through this but being a mom of two babies makes it difficult. ALS is a horrible disease..

Hi, welcome to the forum, Aimee.