Diagnosis
04/2009
Country
US
State
OH
City
Findlay
I am new to this. My friend was diagnosed with Bulbar ALS in April 2009. I am his primary caregiver. He just got a PEG a month ago. He is mobile but getting sleep is his main problem right now...he is exhausted and has no energy due to the lack of sleep I think. Has trouble turning over in his clothing. ANY experience, strength and hope would be appreciated. I am lost and saddened and want to do the BEST for him and his care and comfort and outlook! This is so difficult and emotional....

Dear Sonya,
I am sorry for you and your friend. Regarding the sleep challenge, I would ask his doctor if he's a candidate for either a prescribed medication such as ambien, or some of the herbal supplements like valerian root or melatonin. I'm not as familiar with Bulbar ALS, and wouldn't want to give you bad information, but I do know my husband was prescribed ambien to help him with his sleep, because his fasciculations are sometimes so strong at night, he can't sleep.

Peace & Prayers to you,

Thank you Melody. It such a blessing knowing I'm not alone and others' are facing similar things. I thank you for your response.

I know I'm still struggling with understanding/accepting all that this disease means. I hadn't seen anyone else who seems "new" to the journey. I know how scared, confused and overwhelmed I am often...trying to know how to "live with ALS" and not "die from ALS", and not feel so lost as well.

Peace to you.
Happy Thanksgiving-
Melody

sonyas,

One thing that might help your husband in bed are Satin Sheets. You'll be amazed at the ease that you can move in bed. We used them for my husband till he went into the hospital. he asked me for a Satin type shirt to help him move too ... Cotton sticks and is hard to move. Although I recommend using cotton pillow cases or you will lose the pillows they will slide right off