11/2010
Country
US
State
CALIFORNIA
City
san diego
Dear Shon,

Thanks for your interest in my labs research on repair of the central nervous system (CNS: brain and spinal cord). First of all may I say how sorry I am to hear of your unfortunate circumstances. I also must tell you that I am a medical research scientist and not a clinician and I therefore cannot directly administer therapies . However my research team is developing two highly promising nervous system repair technologies that we hope to be able to make available for use by the general public within the next couple of years. You are right in being excited about our latest results with specific sub-types of beneficial human astrocytes derived from human stem cells (called glial precursor cells) in our experimental spinal cord injury studies. I have just written a lay person style overview of the GDA technology that is posted on the Unite 2 Fight Paralysis website. The overview describes why these discoveries are important breakthroughs for future treatment of persons such as yourself with traumatic nervous system injuries and ALS.

Here is the link to the article: HumanGDAOverview - Unite 2 Fight Paralysis