Diagnosis
08/2009
Country
US
State
NE
City
Lincoln
I can't be the only person who wants to run 12VDC accessories on a power chair with 24V battery system. Well, I am an electrical engineer, and there is a wrong way and a right way.

The wrong way is to tap across the most negative battery. the extra load applied for 12 stuff will unbalance the charge on your batteries, and shorten the life of them considerably.

The right way is to get a 24V-12V DC-DC converter. They are available, just google DC-DC converter. The one I have that I am gathering materials to wire is;

Motormate DC-DC Power Converter. Input is 20-32VDC, and output is 13.8VDC @ 10A max. This unit is isolated completely from input to output, so I am not going to ground either side of the 13.8VDC. I didn't know if they ground the negative to the frame of the power chair or not, so I paid a little more for a totally isolated unit.

Output is regulated, and protected from overloads, and shorts. Now 10A is plenty for me to run such things as GPS, small 2meter ham radios, even up to a small spotlight I have.

I am going to fuse both 24V power leads at 7A. I'm going to use automotive ATC fuses and holders. I'm going to fuse the 13.8VDC output at 10A anyway. I'm going to run the output to a small project box from Radio Shack, with a toggle switch to switch on and off the converter, a pilot lamp so I know when it's on, a cigarrette lighter socket, and a couple of Anderson Powerpole sockets, since all of my ham radio equipment has been changed over to them.

Basically, if I am using the whole 10A at 13.8VDC, the converter will be pulling about 5.8A from the 24V batteries. Getting it to 10A will be rare for me, so I don't expect any detrimental effect to the batteries.

Now, while there are 24VDC to 110VAC inverters available, I do not recommend using them from the wheelchair batteries for 2 reasons;

1. While 12VDC presents little shock hazard to the user, not so for 110VAC.