Fasciculations

Status
Not open for further replies.
Question for everyone about fasciculations

I don't know if it's a cultural thing or what, But I am from the South as South Mississippi. I have never heard the word fasciculations until my neurologist told me that was what I was having for over two years. The local folks here have always called them:
twitches
spasms
charlie Horses
catch in my muscle
fits
jumping muscles
everything but fasciculations
Amazing

Just curious. I know we have a unique language down here, just strange no one here ever heard of fasciculations. Thanks Yall.

God Bless,
Big AL
:-D

not so good day

hi everyone, this is my first time to write. i usually read all the messages and am helped a great deal. everyone is so helpful and patient. i was diagnosed a year ago aug. and have stayed fairly stable for the most part. i have limb onset in the right hand and arm. probably lost 70% of function now but still do most things by myself. this wwek-end i was overwhelmed with my loss. all the things i can no longer do. i felt like i wasn't even me anymore. do any of you ever have days when you just feel so sorry for yourself and all you can do is fight the tears? i am usually a very positive, up-beat person but every now and then this disease just overwhelms me. my daughter said i needed to get counseling. she didn't say it in an unkind way but is what i am feeling normal or should i get counseling? what are your thought...
thanks for listening. lrob

Hey Big AL. Fasciculations is just the big fancy medical term for twitches. I hadn't heard about it up here in Canada until I typed in twitches into a search field.