Diagnosis
01/2007
Country
US
State
tx
City
Houston
I was wondering if any of you have filed for V.A. disability benefits? I am in the process of filing a claim for my PLS and was wondering what to expect? Also, how long did it take from start to finish to get a final response?

I filed my claim back in 02/08 online. Finally, last week they sent me a request through the mail asking for my DD214's, medical release consent forms and an explaination of my claim.

I have been working on my claim for ALS for 16 months now. To date I've been denied twice. If you haven't spoken with a veteran service organization such as Paralyzed Veterans of America (PVA), Disabled American Veterans (DAV) or the American Legion you need to do so right away.

How were you denied twice? Did they deny you once then you filed an appeal?

What can those organizations do for me? What do I need to tell them?

What kind and how much proof do they (V.A.) need that our illnesses were service related before they will grant a claim?

Sorry, for all the questions but this is completely new to me.

You can submit new evidence following any decision. I was denied the first time so I submitted new evidence. They denied me again so I submitted new evidence and now I'm waiting for another decision.

The organizations can help you fill out paperwork get evidence and records, help navigate the system and keep track of everything you've submitted. Call one and explain your situation and what you've done thus far.