Country
US
State
AZ
City
Tucson
started yesterday afternoon And causes hours long choking episodes
no fever but my family has had bad colds
feels like annoying nasal drip but can't cough it up even with cough assist and suction
bipap air blowing down my throat is causing more violent episodes

don't think it's sickness other than als
more and more thick saliva that must be suctioned

hospice nurse coming out tomorrow for first time, but don't expect they will know about als

wondering if I need that vest to help lungs break up or nebulizer. What do you experts think. I don't have either or know much about them
!
this is miserable, the worst I've experienced in four years t

Possibly the bipap did this to you. Perhaps something in the air got into your air supply. Maybe some mold grew in your equipment or the hoses.

I'm no expert, but I would take three meds. First, a Benedryl in case this is an allergic reaction to something you breathed in. Second, a pseudofed to dry up that post-nasal drip before the snot really irritates your throat. Third, a cough suppressant so your body won't feel the need to cough.

I'll emphasize: I'm no expert. All three of those meds might contain things that suppress your breathing dangerously.

I wouldn't load up on drugs just yet -- some of those are sedating and others the opposite. Sudafed is just bad stuff generally, as is Benadryl, mostly. You might try a cough med with DXM in it.

If the BiPAP water chamber, mask and hoses are as clean as ever, the mold theory is unlikely but not hard to check -- each can be sniffed.

Has your use of central heating or other dust-generating apparatus changed in any way? Is anyone using like a new humidifier, vaporizer, aerosol or anything?

You could be working on the family cold -- they can manifest differently for you, esp. if the nasal drip feeling is in your throat rather than chest. Does the thick saliva have mucus in it?