Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
US
State
NJ
City
Garfield
Hi, I've had 2 EMGs total, 1 on each side of my body that were 6 months apart. The neurologist told me he saw twitching in my calves on the EMG but that's it, no sharp waves or Fibrillations. Reflexes and strength are all nornal. He told me there's a 100% chance I don't have ALS. When I asked about developing it in the future he said "you have a better chance of being struck by lightning 3 times". The reason why I am posting this is, im curious if I'm just going to have to stop being a baby and accept I may twitch for the rest of my life? I've read the sticky and know it says twitching isn't diagnostic of anything. I've been through a million blood tests, EMG, EEG, MRI, and nothing has been found. It's crazy, I've been twitching for 6 months already.

Well, I am very glad you have accepted it's not ALS. The people here would not be able to tell you how long twitching may last for you, given you do not have ALS. I am sure you have come across the term "Benign Faciculation Syndrome" in your internet travels- you may wish to look into this as a possibility.

Thank you for coming to report your doctor saying 100% not ALS. That's excellent news, and congratulations.

Thanks for the fast response shiftkicker. The neurologist did say he believes it's bfs. The next step he wants to do is take a look at my spine with an MRI because my legs ache when standing for periods of time.

I'm very happy for you!!!! Thanks for letting us know and best wishes.

Help with EMG Results

Hi, I hope you all are well. Can one of the users knowledgeable in EMG results interpret this? I have attached 2 EMG results, one from the left side and one from the right side of my body. I have been having full body twitching (mostly in legs though), headaches, and fatigue. Both calves and forearms "feel" weak as well. I know feelings of weakness don't mean anything, its just hard to explain the symptoms.

Attachments

• Right Side.pdf