Lost a loved one
Country
HUN
State
Budapest
City
Budapest
Hi,

I understand that you're not doctors, and I sincerely appreciate the effort with which you try to answer the posts here while dealing with this terrible disease (as someone who has lost a father to ALS, I'm unfortunately quite familiar with it). I'm posting here because I'm currently in a diagnostic limbo with my neuro unavailable for some time, and kindly ask your opinion about my findings, and how do they compare to your or your loved one's experiences

I'm a 29 years old male working as a programmer, my father developed bulbar-onset ALS at the age of 54 and passed away after 2.5 years. He had non-affected parents and 8 siblings, his condition was tentatively attributed to a heavy head trauma with brain contusion 14 years prior to the illness, and possibly lifetime diesel exhaust exposure (there was a study about truck drivers more suspectible to SALS). In August 2015, I started to feel a heaviness/subclinical weakness in my left arm and hand, which was worse in cold weather, but mostly gone into remission by now. Shortly after that, I started experiencing bodywide fasciculations, for which I had exams in September 2015. The neurological exam was unremarkable, the EMG found no abnormality in the left opponens pollicis, abductor digiti minimi and tibialis anterior. I also had negative SOD1 and C9orf72 tests.

The fasciculations waxed and waned, slightly controlled by Carbamazepine and Diazepam, but somewhat worsened in the last few months, which I attributed to work-related stress. I have a hot spot over my left eyebrow which has been twitching almost non-stop for 2 years. Sometimes when I twitch, I experience an electric-shock like sensation goin down the side of my neck.