View Single Post
Old 07-06-2016, 03:20 PM #5 (permalink)
Extremely Helpful Member

City: The Beach
State: South
Diagnosed: 08/2015
Interest: I have been diagnosed with ALS.
KimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud of
Extremely Helpful Member

City: The Beach
State: South
Diagnosed: 08/2015
Interest: I have been diagnosed with ALS.
KimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud ofKimT has much to be proud of
Default Re: When did you decide to stop working?

I was officially dx in August 2015. We were just starting a new semester (I was a college professor with close to 26 years with the same public college.) Unfortunately, my immediate supervisor retired a few months before my dx. The new boss, an attorney, was not very accommodating. My first move was to get approved under ADA to work 100% from home. I had a solid case because I had developed and oversaw a program that was 100% online and I had a home office with everything I needed. They went back and forth for a week or two and then approved me for one semester. Same time they started requiring me to do huge amounts of administrative work (I had been a Department Chair before so they knew I could do it.) They claimed it was to make up for my not serving on committees but the amount of work in itself was a full-time job. So I went out on FMLA and bought myself 12 weeks. I had enough sick time to carry me until March and the 12 weeks would get me to the end of the semester, then I had three weeks off for Christmas. During the first few weeks off I knew I could never go back. There was