Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Caroline :)

My Mothers symptoms are on right and left, she can't hold her weight on her legs and her arms are extremely bad too.

She is reluctant to see anyone else at the moment and panics a little when anyone brings it up.

How are you? Hope you're well :)

Steve

hi

:-D im not too good at the moment, still waiting for appointment for clinic. its probably best to leave it a bit, till at least she feels ready but it will benefit her to go as soon as shes able to cope.
best wishes to you and your mum
caroline

Sorry to hear you're not doing so well. Hope you feel better soon . Let me know how it goes.

All the best to you and yours :)

Steve

hi steve

sorry about short reply earlier,im not doing too well at the moment and got alot on my mind. i thought about what you said about your mum,she has just got a terminal diagnosed and will panic and may be in denial but letting her know that you are there to talk to when shes ready is the best thing you can do for now.im not in denial anymore but my son and family are. i dont tell them much about whats going on, when i do they just clam up and pretend everythings ok so i keep it all to myself .how old is your mum?.i became ill at 32,i had a job i loved,full active life always fit and healthy. first few yrs i went down hill fast then stabilized a bit a few yrs then 14 mths ago i started to deteriorate again,im now 40 limited mobility,speach and especially swallowing/respitory is getting worse.
i think the best support to give is emotional over practical, doing practical things does help but emotional support is the most important. have you told her about forum?
reading about people going through the same as she is could help, if shes not ready just mention little points about people here and what they say to get her interested.