Reason
PALS
Country
US
State
NC
City
Carrboro
i'm a software developer, or have been a software developer, but this disease is making it tough to use the keyboard. everybody suggests voice recognition, but i have doubts about that working well for software development. the tech guy at the als clinic suggested a usb morse code input device. sounds kinda crazy, but interesting...anybody tried it?

i picked the morse device this morning. its a "darci usb" by WesTest engineering. sells for $200. i think you have to buy the switches or paddles separately.

http://www.westest.com/darci/usbindex.html

trying it out now
i'm surprised how much morse i can remember from when i was a kid (thirty years ago). of course back then morse didn't include stuff like alt-tab.
for now, finger pecking at the traditional keyboard is quicker, but morse lets me keep my eyes on the screen. the guy at the clinic seems to think that with practice my morse speed will be faster than the one-finger peck.

are other forum participants using morse or other alternative input devices?

Ahands:

What symptoms specifically, prevent you from typing? Is your ability to type degenerating? If so, in what fashion?

I am still able to type, but I wonder for how long given the degree of atrophy I see on my hands and what appears to be progressive weakness in finger pinch or grip strength.

I have a Tracker Pro headmouse system but find it hard to keep my head steady with it. I just got Dragon Naturally Speakinng 9 on eBay for $ 45 but haven't installed it yet. I am down to typing with 1 finger now.
AL.

you're using the "stick-keys" feature, hope?

one thing to be said for sticking with the standard keyboard, even if you must do the 1-finger peck, is you can use any computer without having to lug special equipment around. usb has done a lot to eliminate compatibility problems.