Diagnosis
01/2006
Country
US
State
Florida
City
Tampa
:Hi All..I'm new to this..but here goes..My husband Gary has ALS, was diagnosed Jan of 06..We both retired about 6 years ago and we moved out of our townhouse into a motorhome and traveled full time all over the US and little in Canada. Last Feb we had to move out of the motorhome and into a house because he couldnt get up the stairs and the mh wasnt big enough to put the scooter in for him to get around. He is now in a power chair, can only stand for about 3 seconds and sometimes not that..Anyway we are very thankful we had the time and fun that we've had...it doesnt make things any easier, thats for sure..With God's help..I now dont look at the whole picture , I was totally freaking out and cant imagine how Gary felt..instead I just vision small "snipets"of whats happening and that is how I handle it so I can give Gary my all..He's not as bad off yet as alot of you are talking about your loved ones..but he is definatley getting worse..it's unbelievable that he cant roll over or move his feet, or scratch the top of his head, etc..i see it every day..and still cant believe this is happening.. anyway..thats our story in a nutshell and i'm so glad i found this site to visit...

Welcome Jeanie