Diagnosis
12/2013
Country
US
State
AZ
City
Tucson
I'm getting increasingly frustrated with my Kindle Fire tablet now that I'm down to one finger typing. I like using my iPhone for speech to text, as currently my voice is not affected. However, with the exception of my iPhone, I've been a Windows user. So I'm pretty comfortable with either format.

Here's what I want for a computer, or perhaps more likely, a tablet:

- speech to text options

- search the web

- email

- compose documents

- read books

Possibly there are other things I haven't thought of, such as if/when I lose my voice.

Any suggestions or tips will be greatly appreciated.

Kay

Kay,

I've been using a Nexus 10 for several years and have been really happy with it. The 10 is no longer being produced, having been replaced by a 9 inch model. In my experience, the android OS, v5 (Lollipop) is so much better at speech to text than apple's, its no competition.

Mark

I just switched to a MacBook Pro. Personally love it. Dictation on it is good too. And I lot of easy swiping gestures over the trackpad too.

tract can you send a link to the stap program? I will need an eyegaze soon. Thanks. Did you get a Tobii or Dynavox?

Neil

We tried the Tobii... but it was just too slow and cumbersome. So I took one of my small footprint system builds and added Dragon Naturally Speaking Professional. Darcey now uses a wireless headset to open Outlook to read, create and send emails. She can open Facebook and use it (as it was meant to be used... not how Tobii wanted it to be used) with her voice controlling most actions. She still has minimal use of her right hand... and can still just barely move and click a mouse. When I ask her about it she says, "I"m in heaven!"

Jim

We were really pleased with the computer and eye-tracker that the VA provided us from FRS-Solutions dot com. They have a try-out program according to their website.