Diagnosis
12/2013
Country
US
State
AZ
City
Tucson
I've been using bipap for almost 3 months and this problem seems to be getting worse. After about 3 hours I wake up with a mouth so dry that it is scary. Tongue feels stuck to roof of mouth, hard to swallow. Then I have to take it off, which then results in headache later.

The machine is Respironics AVAPS
I'm using the mask that goes over nose only called Wisp
It is really dry here in AZ - may be factor
I do use med mj before bed which I'm thinking drys mouth, too, but puts me to sleep and keeps cramps away

What I've done:
- turned humidier on machine to top setting = 5
- use chin strap to help mouth stay closed
- use Biotene to brush teeth and rinse mouth with before bed

Any ideas?

Wish I could help but not knowledgeable enough. Don't think you meant to post this on DIHALS. I'm sure Nikki will move it.

Vince

DIHALS? Wishful thinking?

Oh man, I wish, Nikki! Now all those DIHALSers with dry mouth will start to panic. Thanks for moving thread.

Do you have a heated tube, if not get one it will allow you to turn the humidly setting down. I changed to the heated tube about 2 months ago, it definatley helps with my dry nasal passages and mouth. I use a wisp also, and couldn't tolerate the nasal pillows that go in the nostrils. It felt like my brain was getting blown up, and hurt my nasal passages.
There are several things that moisturize your mouth and help with nasal dryness.
Meds could be a culprit as well.
If you use the small mask, pm me and I will send you a brand new one. I use the large, and have no use for the small or XL that comes with the wisp.:)

In one of the Facebook als groups someone mentioned XyliMelts. They noted that biotene did them no good.

Thanks Mark and Greg.

I would like your small mask and will pm. Can send you large if you can use it.

Will order those mints, Greg.

This is one of the most uncomfortable developments so far. Progression sucks.