Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
Ca
City
Vallejo
Hi, so I am pretty new to this. For the last 3 weeks I have been driving myself completely insane! This all started around feb 28 with a weird tight feeling on the left side of my face that eventually spread Down my neck arm and then to my leg.. I went to the ER had brain MRI CT and lots of blood work but everything was normal.. A couple of days later I started what I would call twitching in my legs (mostly calves) but it also goes into my feet, thighs , stomach , back and arms.. This is what really scared me. It feels like something is popping in my body sometimes I can see the movement sometimes I can't it's not constant but every now and then I feel a couple thumps somewhere on my body.. I also noticed today that my left calf is larger than my right.. I don't know if this is normal or if something is really happening to me. My anxiety is getting the best of me right now , this is the only place I feel where I can say how I'm feeling.

I'm a 21 year old female so I have been told that having ALS is extremely rare but I can't seem to reassure myself that I don't have it! I'm a nervous wreck right now. I also feel like my left arm is getting weaker as the days go by like it's not really there. My hand has a strange feeling to it especially when I try and touch my thumb and pinky together.

I have been so stressed out I can't focus on anything and I know my anxiety could be making things worse. I just need for somebody to tell me how als starts and if this is something that I should even be worrying about? I'm sorry for the long post but I would appreciate it so much if someone could give me a little knowledge in als. Thank you so much

An ALS diagnosis starts by you going to a neuro, him doing a clinical exam, then an EMG if he decides that is appropriate.

It does not start with twitching or feeling like you're getting weaker. Those usually start from anxiety.